Oct 5 – The Homestretch?

The 30 Day Primal Challenge is winding down as to close, but in a way, it’s really just the beginning. In these last 29 days, I’ve made enormous strides in improving my overall health and in leaning down. I really don’t (personally) have much in the way of stats to prove that this is the most optimal lifestyle for all human beings, but I know what’s worked best for me to date. And I have tried quite a lote when it comes to diets/fads (no definate chronological order):

  • SAD (Standard American Diet – Burger King, Pizza, Hamburger Helper, Doritos & Soda, Taco Bell, Candy and Boxes of Cereal! (I love cheerios)
  • Diets pills (Xenodrin)
  • One week of hotdogs, canned beets, boiled eggs and tuna (weird one from my pops)
  • Frozen Lean Cuisine’s
  • Slim Fast Plan
  • Large Pasta Salads
  • Fat-free Twinkees and Diet Soda
  • Protein shakes
  • 6 small meals a day
  • Myoplex protein bars
  • Skinless chicken breast with steamed broccoli and brown rice
  • Warrior Diet (IF and whole foods)
  • And now Paleo/WD hybrid!

There are probably a few more I’ve forgotten between the years of 5 and 25, but the important thing to note is that I have evolved through many levels of nutritional experience and knowledge, slowly, but surely refining my approach to health and longevity. It seems as though I might just be a SLOW learner, but really I attribute my first quarter century to my love of all foods stretching across our wide spectrum. Probably more than most. That and I have a seemingly never-ending hunger for tasty food. If it tastes good, I’ll keep eating till it’s gone. But now I’m learning to listen more to my physical needs rather than wants as I eat.

Plus, the combonation of my Intermittent Fasting practices and eating strictly whole foods (such as naturally-raised meats, organic vegetables and fruits, as well as traditional fats and occasional dairy) permits me much more leeway with regards to how much I can (need to) eat in one sitting.

So while the Challenge end on Wednesday, I plan on making this true change in my life and look forward to continued benefits of living primally. As I lean down, I plan on adding dairy back into the mix along with occasional evening with grains and legumes. Partly because I really do enjoy, but also because I don’t suffer the same ailments other do when consuming lactose, certain bacterial strains, gluten, etc. While they may contributed under earlier circumstances to my body composition, I’ve always maintained that I have an Iron Stomach! And after a long day of fasting and working the body, it’s primed to handle most all whole foods I can throw into my tank.

But this phase is still a while out. Until I feel that I’ve reach the lean body I should have, these things will still be few and far between. In truth, my beloved BEER may make up the grand majority of these future indulgences…

Zicke, zacke, zicke, zacke, hoi, hoi, hoi,
Zicke, zacke, zicke, zacke, hoi, hoi, hoi,
Prosit
!

Leave a Reply

