Oct 1 – Paleo, Deep-Fried

Maybe 3-4 times in my life I have deep fried some food. When I was younger I even got a Fry Daddy for Christmas. But for me deep fried food was something to eat in restaurants when it didn’t matter what you threw down your gullet. And it’s never been synonomous to traditional, healthy cooking. It’s FUN FOOD! Fatty food that tastes SOOOOO good! But now I’m proud to present, Guilt-Free Deep-Fried Food.. Paleo-style; meaning deep frying with animal fat (Tallow or Lard) and without breading (except nut flour).

On Friday night I took the rest of my tallow, melted it in a pot and fried my first-ever, home-made chicken wings! So easy and quick to do. And the oil was so flavorful by itself that I only dashed some S&P on to the wings before frying. After 7 minutes, the wings were crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. Then I poured a small bit of Franks Red Hot sauce on them for that Buffalo flavor. And what goes with fried chicken? Fries, of course. Yes, I made yam-fries which toook around 8 minutes per batch, and they were delicious. Seasoned afterwards with some ground salt and thyme only. Quite good, though are harder to crispen to same point I got the wings to.

All-in-all, great experiment. This will be great for Game Day on Sundays this season.

Leave a comment